Free Trade Agreements Help Lower Your Cost of Trade

  • By Jill LaMadeleine
  • 26 Oct, 2015

Learn about the 13 other Free Trade Agreements that you may not know about.

While most importers are familiar with the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the United States participates in 13 other trade agreements with other countries around the world. Some of these agreements were established as far back as 1985 and others that are only 3 years in existence.

These free trade agreements provide opportunities for importers to reduce their duty burden on items sourced from the participating countries.

The 13 additional free trade agreements (FTA’s) include:
1. Australia Free Trade Agreement (AUFTA)
2. Bahrain Free Trade Agreement (BFTA)
3. Central America-Dominican Republic Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR)
4. Chile Free Trade Agreement (CFTA)
5. Colombia Trade Promotion Agreement (CTPA)
6. Israel Free Trade Agreement (ILFTA)
7. Jordan Free Trade Agreement (JFTA)
8. Korea Free Trade Agreement (UKFTA)
9. Morocco Free Trade Agreement (MFTA)
10. Oman Free Trade Agreement (OFTA)
11. Panama Trade Promotion Agreement (PATPA)
12. Peru Trade Promotion Agreement (PETPA)
13. Singapore Free Trade Agreement (SFTA)

Each FTA involves different criteria for qualification as well as includes various rules for different kinds and quantity of commodity.

We have extensive experience working with and providing support to our clients who participate in many of the FTA’s listed above. Contact us today if you think your company may benefit from one of the free tradeagreements listed above.

Share by: